Deception.

January 29, 2011 at 8:19 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Deception. When are you allowed to deceive someone? Is it ever acceptable? What if it was for the greater good? I am very weary of deceiving someone even if it is deemed okay.

The reason I write about deception is because my daughter will not eat vegetables. The only veggie she likes is broccoli (which is the king of vegetables in my humble opinion). So, what is a mother to do?

Well, many people have heard of the cookbook called Deceptively Delicious–a cookbook that I received two years ago and never tried. I didn’t like the idea of duping my kid into eating seemingly healthy foods. However, I needed some artillery to fight this battle and this book was the answer.

Out of the cupboard it came and on to the counter. As I flipped through the pages my eyes set on a brownie recipe. The brownies called for pureed carrots and spinach, which are two of my child’s most hated foods–perfect!

My eyes scanned over the recipe and disappointment spread over my smug deceptive face.

Margarine!?? In a baked good?! Never! I have a problem with margarine that I won’t go into but I will say I don’t believe it is very healthy.

The only option left was to come up with a brownie recipe that wouldn’t comprise flavour yet still allowed for it to be packed with vitamins.

I whipped up the brownies (the purees were a bit time consuming but I made huge batches and froze them in 1/4 cup portions) and their aroma filled with house.

“I smell something!” My daughters eyes widened as she descended the stairs. “I smell chocolate!”

On the counter she could see the brownies and looked at them in her shy, coy manner her mouth open panting in anticipation of tasting something sweet.

“Here, have a brownie sweetie” I said.

My daughter’s eyes gleamed as she bit into the not-too-fudgy but not-too-cakey brownie.

Mmmmm.

They passed the tests but I failed. I had to tell her there were carrots and spinach in them. It didn’t matter in the end, though, they were knowingly delicious.

Photobucket

Picky Eaters Brownies

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup Dutch-processed cocoa
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 2 oz bittersweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup carrot puree
  • 1/2 cup spinach puree
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs, 2 egg yolks
  • 1 scant tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups light brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 oz semisweet chocolate chips

Method
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Line a 13×9 inch baking pan with aluminum foil so that the sides of the foil hang slightly over the pan. Spray foil with vegetable oil.

Whisk cocoa and boiling water in a large bowl. Add chocolate chips and whisk until they are melted. Whisk in the purees and butter until combined (the mixture will look a bit curdled). Add the eggs, yolks and vanilla. Whisk until smooth.

Whisk in sugar until fully incorporated.

With a spatula, mix in flour and salt until combined.

Fold in chocolate chips.

Pour batter into the prepared pan and bake until brownies are set (when a toothpick is inserted it comes out with moist crumbs)–about 30-35 minutes.

Transfer pan to a cooling rack and cool.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

