Mommy Guilt

September 12, 2010 at 2:54 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

I know, I know, I have been neglecting this blog.  It is unfortunate because I really do enjoy writing.  I feel that I need to write in order to keep my mind in tact.  As I spiral down into the world of mommyhood I find myself replacing my thoughts on the garrison mentality and neoplatonism with the lyrics to “The Farmer in the Dell.”  But, there just never seems like a good time to write on here.

I still bake but all of it is done at night when the kids are sleeping so getting a decent picture of the finished product is out of the question.  The thought of perhaps baking during the day has come to mind but I can’t bring myself to do it.  Whenever I do something for myself while the kids are awake I get a case of the mommy guilts (as I type my youngest is sleeping soundly on me).

My biggest fear is failing as a mom even if that means failing as a dedicated blogger.  Everyday I am constantly beating myself up about not being a good enough mom.  Guilt starts to creep in when I start getting tired of playing with them after a couple hours and I can’t justify letting them watch television so I can bake.  Television is okay but I prefer the girls to watch very little because my eldest acts like a zombie in front of the tv.

Anyway, back to baking. For the past few months I have been constantly baking–most of that being birthday cakes.  My eldest daughter’s birthday is in July, my husband, brother and mother’s birthday is in August and my youngest daughter’s birthday is in September.  Unfortunately, I didn’t capture pictures of all the cakes I made.  The only one I have a picture of is my daughter’s third birthday cake.

Photobucket

A big pink chocolate cake was the birthday girls request.

Hopefully my next post comes sooner than this one.  Happy baking out there to everyone.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. wow! so nice and HUGE…is that a tiara I spy on top? what a lucky duck : )


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

