It’s my birthday and I can bake if I want to.

March 26, 2010 at 3:16 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 11 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

I love days of celebration. I love surprise parties, welcome home parties, any type of party really. So, I am pretty excited about today because it is my birthday, which means I get to make myself a cake.

Although I make desserts often, I rarely make ones’ tailored to my own tastes.  I think I have always put people’s needs before myself. Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining. I actually prefer it that way. That is usually because half the time I don’t know what I want so I would rather other people decide.

This attribute of mine, however, drives my husband nuts. So the only way he would let me make my own cake is if I made a cake that I wanted.

The dessert I decided to make is something a little out of the ordinary. It is actually a bit of a weird dessert–so weird that I wish my almost-sister/best friend extraordinaire and lover of all things weird, Tonija, could share my cake with me.

My birthday cake is a Carrot Cheesecake. Weird, right? I thought that it would be fun to make for several of the following reasoms: I have never heard of a carrot cheesecake before, there were carrots in the fridge that I needed to use, I like cheesecake, I like carrot cake, there is cream cheese frosting on carrot cake, cream cheese is the main ingredient in cheesecake (go figure) and the list goes on and on.

Of course this cake isn’t perfect just yet as it is my first attempt but I thought I would post the recipe for others to try and improve on or just try for that matter.

Photobucket

Carrot Cheesecake

Ingredients:
For crust:

  • 1 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

For cheesecake:

  • 2 cups grated carrot
  • 1 cup crushed pineapple with some juice
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 3 packages (7oz) cream cheese, softened and cut into one inch cubes
  • 1 whole egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Method:
In a food processor, pulse graham cracker crumbs and walnuts together till walnuts are about the same size as the graham cracker crumbs (30 seconds). Pour butter on top of crumbs and pulse till mixture holds together when pinched (20 seconds).

In a 9-inch springform pan sprinkle graham cracker mixture evenly into it. Then, press down with the palm of your hand to form a crust. Press down mixture so that it completely covers the pan and goes partially up the sides of the pan. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Clean the food processor so that it can be used again. Add carrots and pineapple to food processor. Pulse together until the consistency of a puree is achieved. Transfer into a medium bowl.

Stir in 2/3 cup sugar, cinnamon and salt into carrot puree. Then beat in 3 egg yolks, one at a time. Set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment add the cream cheese. Beat on medium until cream cheese achieves a soft and fluffy appearance. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Slowly add the sugar and mix until combined.

With mixer still on medium speed, add the whole egg. Mix until just incorporated. Scrape down the bowl and add the egg yolk and mix until just incorporated. Add vanilla and mix till combined.

Using a spatula fold the carrot mixture into the cheesecake until thoroughly combined.

Pour cheesecake batter into the prepared pan and smooth top with spatula.

Place cheesecake into preheated oven and bake for 45-50 minutes or until the sides of the cheesecake is set and the middle is slightly jiggly.

Remove from oven and place on a wired cooling rack.  Once fully cool cover and place in the fridge for 3 – 4 hours or overnight before serving.

Photobucket

Note: I am not concerned about cracks in my cheesecakes so I didn’t take measures against it. However, if you are concerned about getting a crack in the cheesecake place the the cake tin in a water bath before placing it in the oven.  Once the cake is finished baking turn off the oven and open the oven. Keep the door ajar and let the cake cool in the water bath before removing it.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Happy birthday to you!

    Carrot cheesecake sounds strangely delicious. I think you got the whole putting other people before yourself from your mama – you generous, giving people, you! I hope that you enjoy your day and I can’t wait to celebrate with you soon.

    xoxo love.

  2. Oh my goodness that looks so yummy!

    I wish I could be there with you to celebrate for many reasons although the cake would be a sweet bonus.
    I miss you so much, I wish I was done school so I could visit more often.

    love love love

  3. What a great idea! I can’t wait to try this.

  4. Thanks Crepes of Wrath! I am so glad you commented on my blog because I got to look at your blog and it has so many recipes that I can’t wait to make!

  5. Aww, happy birthday! And the cake looks lovely, which means it’s at least near perfection. Oh and you’re right – it’s your birthday, you have the right to do anything you want!!

    • Thank you for the birthday wishes! That’s so sweet of you. I hope you have a lovely birthday when the day comes around.

  6. Hi, you have interesting post! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is birthday cakes site/blog. It pretty much covers “cakes” related stuff.

    • Thanks for the site. It has really great information about cake!

  7. I do the same thing on my birthday. Its all about what I want to bake. Its usually a double vanilla cake, but I love carrot cake and cheesecake, I would love this.

    • Oh gosh, double vanilla cake sounds delicious. I wish I could eat some of that right now actually, mmm.

  8. Harika bir lezzet bayıldım!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

