Mo(u)rning Pace.

March 22, 2010 at 4:15 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

My husband finally had a day off after working seven days!  My husband, the lovely, amazing man that he is, decided that it would not be a day of relaxation for me.  Nope.  He made me go on a run.  Pleas for mercy would not work on him and run he forced me to do.  This must be some kind of spousal abuse, no?

My husband, however, did this out of what he supposed to be sheer kindness.  Before I had my second baby I used to love running and would wake up quite early and go for runs.  If someone wanted to hang out with me I would suggest going for a run.  I was a run-a-holic.

Sadly, I am a runner no more.  I didn’t want to test my cardio because I knew that it would be horrible.  I very much dislike being horrible at something I don’t think I should be bad at.  But, my husband would not relent, so I put on my jogging clothes and went out the door–albeit begrudgingly.

Now, if someone is forcing you to run there is probably no better place to do it than Whistler.  I ran around a golf course and it was absolutely beautiful.  It made me realize why I love running.

The only problem about running in Whistler is that I suck compared to everyone else.  Yup, I do.  I am probably the most unfit person here and I hate it.  It really bothers me that my body has physical limitations and it kills me that my husband is better than me at running.  But, the only way to get better is to keep on running.

For all of you people out there who want to start running here are some tips that I find useful:

  • A day or two before you go for a run walk the trail you have decided to run.  I didn’t and got very confused and a bit lost trying to find my way back home.
  • Make sure you are hydrated so you do not cramp up.  My husband sprung the news I was going on a run and all I had to drink were two cups of coffee–not good.
  • Try to push yourself while you are running.  When you feel like you need to take a break set a goal.  When I start getting tired and out of breath I like to tell myself “Tori, you need to run to that tree and then you can walk.”  This is a good way to not only push yourself but follow through on simple goals, which can translate to following through on bigger goals later.
  • If you finish your run in a sprint make sure you walk a bit afterwords to lower your heart rate and then re-hydrate.
  • Force the person who made you run do an extremely long run.  Sweet revenge will make you happy and subsequently you will want to go for a run again–as you ended the experience on a high note.

Oh, and yogurt and granola is a great breakfast before the run.   Here is a recipe for granola. I made this recipe tailored to my husband and my tastes. We are constantly complaining about how granola is way to sweet. When I saw brown rice syrup at the market I was so happy because it is a great alternative to sugar. Thus, the Not-too-Sweet Granola recipe was born.

Photobucket
Not-too-sweet Granola

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup flax seed
  • 2/3 cup silvered almonds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup brown rice syrup
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries

Method:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

In a medium sized bowl mix together oats, flax, cinnamon and salt and set aside.

In another medium sized bowl combined brown rice syrup, canola oil and maple syrup.

While stirring the oat mixture pour the brown rice syrup mixture over the oats. Stir the syrup covers oats a few times and then pour oats into the bowl that held the syrup. Stir oats around the bowl a few times and transfer over to the bowl that once contained the oats. Do this a few times to ensure that the oats are thoroughly covered with syrup.

On a baking sheet lined with parchment, pour and spread out oat mixture and then place in oven. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until it is evenly browned.

After ten minutes sprinkle almonds over the oats. Using a wooden spoon stir the mixture.

While the granola is baking stir it around ever so often so it gets evenly browned.

Once the granola is all brown remove from oven and place on a wired cooling rack. Use spoon to break up pieces of granola so it isn’t all clumpy.

When granola is cooled stir in cranberries and transfer to a airtight container.

Granola will keep for about a week.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. matty and i went for a run yesterday and i was feeling so good at the end of our ‘cool down’ that i decided to sprint at full speed (yes, completely nullifying the cooling down aspect…) and i was feeling even better because matty didn’t beat me back to the house. later i told him that i may be faster than him at very short distances, to which he just laughed at me – come on! couldn’t he have just let me think it was true?! haha i am so delusional!

    • Maybe you are better than him. How do we know this is not true? You know and I know that you can beat him. Let’s let Mathieu be delusional.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

