Challah back.

March 5, 2010 at 5:54 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

As I have mentioned before living North of  60 was an amazing experience.  I can’t believe that I got to spend 6 year of my life exposed to the arctic.  I got to go ice fishing, make igloos, learn all about the Inuit and much more.  Everything in Yellowknife wasn’t the greatest though.

When I moved there I went from being surround by people like me–by that I mean half-asian or asian people–to being probably one out of four asians in my school.  It was weird to live in a place with little ethnic diversity.  Toronto was very multicultural and Yellowknife was a bit of a culture shock for me.

We couldn’t always get the ingredients to make certain Chinese dishes there and some of my favourite food was not available.

Before I say anything else I should probably admit something.  I love bread.  Bread and I have a great relationship and I will not be sorry for that.  Like everything, I think that if you eat carbs in moderation it is okay.  My family eats mostly complex carbs so that there are nutritional benefits to the heavenly consumption of bread. Now that I have made my bread peace I shall continue.

Well, when I moved to Yellowknife imagine my shock when they didn’t have my favourite type of bread–a bread that was the staple of my young little life.  What would I do without challah?

Challah, for those of you who haven’t heard of it, is a mildly sweet egg bread that is best served with butter or makes a great sandwich bread for chicken clubs!

I guess looking back on things my mother could have made me challah but with her busy schedule this probably would have been deemed impossible.  Since I am a stay-at-home parent I have the time and thought that it was about time to sure my love of challah with my daughter.  However, I might be at home all times of the day but I still have a limited amount of time which is why this recipe is for the bread maker.

Challah is usually made with white flour but I decided to do half white and half multi-grain for the added fibre.  I was sad when I took my loaves out because they didn’t rise as high as I hoped but I believe that to be the Whistler altitude as this recipe worked better when I was living in Victoria.

Photobucket

Tori’s Easy Bread Maker Challah Recipe
Ingredients:

1 cup warm water
4 tbsp granulated sugar
1/2 cup canola oil
1-1/2 tsp salt
2 eggs, room temperature
2 cups multigrain bread flour
2-1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tbsp bread machine yeast

1 egg
1 tbsp water

Method:
Place all the ingredients excluding the one egg and one tablespoon of water into the pan of the bread machine according to the order recommended by the manufacturer. Select dough cycle and press start.

Once dough is ready, turn over on a lightly floured surface and punch down. Let rest for five minutes.

Divide the dough in half. Take on half of the dough and divide it into three equal parts and roll out each part into a rope that is about 12 inches long.

Pinch the end of the three ropes together and fold under. Then start to braid the dough: take the left rope and bring it over the centre rope, then take the right rope and bring that over the centre rope and repeat until the entire bread is braided. Pinch the ends and fold under.

Repeat following instructions with the remaining half of the dough.

Gently move the loaves on to a greased or parchment lined baking sheet and let rest in a warm and draft free place for about 1 to 1-1/2 hours or until doubled in size.

Once bread has doubled in size preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat together egg and water and a brush a few coats over the loaves. Place bread in a preheated oven for 25 minutes (if it begins to brown too quickly cover with foil).

My two loaves wouldn’t fit beside each other so I baked one on the top rack and one on the bottom rack for ten minutes. Then, I switched the bottom loaf with the top and rotated the bread around and baked for an additional ten minutes and then I switched the loaves back into their original positions for the last five minutes.

Photobucket

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. MMMMM!!!
    I wish I could have some!
    I love challah

  2. I aint no Challah back Girl! HA HA

    Looks delicious!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

