The Peanut Butter Solution.

March 4, 2010 at 6:43 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Don’t you hate writer’s block?  I do and I have had it many times.  I think this one has been brought on by an overdose of sugar due to copious amounts of crack pie.  So here I sit, my mind in a sugar coma wondering what to write about.

I probably should write about the fact that yesterday, March 3, was National Peanut Butter day.  My husband thought this would be a good topic and spent about ten minutes telling me to write about a movie–one he always talks about.

Have you ever heard of The Peanut Butter Solution. My husband has told me about this movie more than once and always gets excited when he talks about it.

He had so many ideas of how I could relate the movie to my writer’s block. Symbolism and allusions were suggested. Perhaps I could somehow find a tangent between the movie and some obscure philosophical question?

But no, instead I passed on the idea and decided to talk about my husband and the big English Literature nerd that he is. I guess that is why we are so perfect for each other. We both enjoy the telling of stories and the weaving of narrative.

I hope you enjoy this Peanut Butter Creme Brulee as much as I enjoyed writing this entry.

Photobucket

Peanut Butter Chocolate Creme Brulee
Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar plus 6 tbsp
  • 8 egg yolks
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • Scant 1/4 cup peanut butter, creamy

Method:
In a microwave proof dish, microwave chocolate for 30 seconds. Remove and stir, heat for another 30 second; remove stir and then heat in 10 second intervals until chocolate has completely melted.

Using a pastry brush cover the bottoms and side of ramekins with melted chocolate; set aside.

Whisk together egg yolks, 1/2 cup sugar, vanilla and salt in a medium bowl and set aside.

In a small saucepan heat milk, cream and peanut butter on medium heat. Stir and heat until cream mixture thickens and almost comes to a boil.

Take egg yolk mixture and slowly whisk in the cream mixture a little at a time–make sure to whisk constantly.

Pour into 8 ramekins and bake in a hot water bath for 40 minutes or until edges are set and the centres slightly jiggle.

Remove from oven and let cool in the water bath for 60 minutes. Then transfer ramekins to the fridge for 4 hours or overnight.

Before eating, sprinkle remaining sugar on top of creme brulee and torch the tops browning the sugar evenly.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

