Fashion faux-pas and hat shaped cookies.

February 28, 2010 at 7:14 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

First off, when it comes to fashion I am a mess.  My favourite colour to wear is black and I wear the plainest of plain clothes.  The basic t-shirt is a friend of mine and sweatpants are something I hold close and dear to my heart.

I have been a loss to fashion since forever.  When I was a little girl, probably around the ages of 6  to 8 -years-old, my father was very influential in the way I dressed.  He kept his eye on the world of fashion and would tell me what was fashionable and then proceed to buy me outfits that would reflect said fashion.

There was only one problem: when you are 6-years-old, it is kind of hard to help set the trends and young children just don’t understand.

My father would tell me about wearing men’s clothing, like his shirts, to school as dresses.  Now this was, in fact, the trend.  It was the early 90’s and women wearing baggy men’s clothing was starting to get popular.  However, like I said before, 6-year-olds don’t understand that it was cool to be on the fringe of a fashion movement and I was constantly asked why I was wearing men’s dress shirts.

Another thing my father liked was hats.  He always wanted me to wear hats and would buy me baseball caps, sailor hats, berets and all sorts of odd and interesting hats.  Every time my father would come home with a different hat I would just sigh and grudgingly try it on for him.  To get me to wear it outside the house he said that he would offer me 5 cents every time I wore a hat he bought.

He never did end up paying me.  I think since he was such a great dad, I’ll have to call it even because there is no price you can put on being a good father.

So to honour my father and coincidentally Purim I made Hamantashen.

Hamantashen are Jewish cookies that are made for Purim.  They are shaped as little hats, the hat of Haman.  I decided to do hamantashen with an apple poppy seed filling that is quite different from many traditional Hamantashen recipes.

Photobucket

Not your Grandmother’s Hamantashen

Apple Poppy seed Filling
Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup poppy seeds
  • 1/4 cup butter, unsalted
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup golden sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 green apple, peeled, cored and finely chopped

Method:
In a saucepan over high-heat, whisk together sour cream, milk and poppy seeds. Continue to whisk mixture until it comes to a boil. Turn down to medium-heat.

Add honey and sugar and cook until mixture thickens, about 15-20 minutes, while whisking ever-so-often. You can tell when it is thick when you take run the whisk through the mixture and a light trail is left.

Once thick remove from heat and whisk in cinnamon and salt. Let cool.

Add chopped apple when mixture has cooled; stir. Set aside to use as filling.

Hamantashen cookie dough
Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1-1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cake flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 tbsp milk

Method:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In the bowl of an electric mixer with paddle attachment, cream together butter and sugar on medium-speed. Beat in egg.

In a medium bowl, sift together flours, baking powder and salt.

With the mixer on low-speed, slowly add half of the flour mixture. Then add the milk. Add the remaining flour mixture and mix until just combined.

Form dough into a ball and turn over on to a floured surface.

Roll out dough to 1/8 inch thick. Use a 3 inch round cookie cutter or a glass and cut out circles.

In the middle of the circles place a bit over a tablespoon of apple poppy seed filling.

Two sides of the upper half of the circle and pinch the top together. Lift up the bottom half of the circle and pinch sides in the same manner so that a triangle is formed making sure to leave the centre un-pinched so some filling is exposed.

Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and bake for 15 minutes or until edges are golden brown.
Photobucket

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I can attest to how delectable these are. They were tantalizing me from Ash’s lunch and I couldn’t help myself but to misappropriate one. It was well worth the risk. Indeed looking back I have to question why I left him any….

  2. I’ll never forget making Hamantashen with Grandma Rose and Matty last year. Your grandma kept reshaping mine – she is the expert after all! Matty had too much fun putting flour all around his nostrils to try and look B.A. ha ha. We are making some tonight using your recipe!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

