The question at the bane of my existence: what’s for dinner?

February 25, 2010 at 4:48 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

Okay, I am definitely losing the battle of sleep with my daughters and my house is a mess, but when I look at my life I just smile and laugh.  What more could I want?

Anyway, last night I decided that I needed something that was not beef so I decided to make something with chicken.  There are so many things you can do with chicken but I find what to make for dinner always a challenge.  Deciding what to have is the bane of my existence.  Well, I might be over exaggerating but I honestly do feel misery when I have no clue what to make.  Is that weird?

Since I knew chicken would be on the menu I decided to go through my trusty old cookbooks and settled on a recipe from the Silver Palate.  Have you seen that cookbook?  It is pretty awesome and really challenges you as a cook.

Anyway, I flipped to the section of chicken and I found my recipe.  I decided on Lemon Chicken because who doesn’t like lemon chicken?  Seriously, if you don’t like lemon chicken tell me because I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like it.

And, if you happen to be one of those people who don’t like it then to that I say give it another try.  Maybe you will like it now.  I didn’t like olives when I was a kid and now I am an olive maniac.  Olive here, olives there, olives, olives everywhere!

Uhh.. so yeah about that recipe, here it is:

Photobucket

Lemon Chicken
adapted from The Silver Palate

Ingredients
4 chicken breasts
1 cup lemon juice
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 whole lemon
1 1/2 tbsp brown sugar, packed

Method
In a bowl, place chicken in lemon juice so it fits quite snug. Marinate for 5 hours or overnight rotating the chicken from time-to-time.

Once the chicken is done marinating drain the lemon juice and pat the chicken dry.

In a bowl with a sealable lid (or a ziplock bag) combine flour, paprika, salt and pepper. Put lid on and shake well so that everything gets combined. Then, place one chicken breast at a time in the flour mixture, cover with lid and shake to coat the chicken; repeat until all the chicken breasts have all been covered.

Heat oil in a cast-iron skillet on medium heat. Add chicken to skillet and brown (about 3 minutes on each side).

Remove chicken and place in a shallow baking dish side-by-side. Take the lemon and zest it over the chicken making sure each chicken gets an even amount of zest. Sprinkle brown sugar evenly over the chicken. Place a piece of thinly sliced lemon on each chicken breast.

Bake for 40 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink in the centre.

Photobucket

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

