Battlefields and cookies.

February 24, 2010 at 8:11 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Oh my goodness, I haven’t written on my blog for a few days. I am so ashamed of myself but playing with my children and family time comes first! My girls have been very grumpy lately. I swear my two-year-old is afraid of sleep. She just won’t sleep when she is obviously tired. In her world naps are a punishment but when she takes one she is so much happier.

That is the bulk of what I have been doing for the past few days. The battle lines have been drawn and my oldest daughter and I are going head-to-head to see who wins on the nap-time debate of 2010. As of the moment she is in her room having quite time and I hope she falls asleep. A well rested child is always more pleasant than a grumpy one.

My baby’s issue is that she won’t sleep unless I am holding her and I don’t have the heart to see her cry. I tried to leave her for 10 minutes and it was the worse 10 minutes I have ever endured.

Because of these sleep issues I am facing I decided that I needed a cookie. Sorry, I don’t have any picture but that is what happens when the children are cranky.

Hopefully I will be able to do some photo documentation in the days to come.

Oh, and if you really want a picture here is one of Whistler during the olympics. I still can’t believe I live here!

Photobucket
(Whistler 2010 Olympics and the massive amounts of people!)

Cinnamon Roll Cookies (from cuisine at home Holiday Cookies)

Prep: 40 minutes; Cook: 10-12 minutes

Ingredients

Filling:

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp. ground cinnamon

Dough:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) of butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar (I used golden sugar)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Icing:

  • 1 cup confectioners sugar, sifted
  • 1/4 cup warm water
  • 1/2 tsp. powdered egg whites (I used meringue powder)
  • I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Method:

Dough

Combine granulated sugar and 2 tbsp cinnamon in a bowl; set aside.

In a bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, and salt; set aside.

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar together.  Blend in eggs and vanilla.  Slowly incorporate flour mixture making sure not to overmix (dough can become tough).

On a piece of parchment paper, trace a 9×16″ rectangle.  Place dough on parchment paper and make rectangle by patting out dough.  Sprinkle 1/4 cup of cinnamon sugar mixture on dough.

Roll into a log beginning on the long side.  Wrap log in plastic and chill for at least 3 hours or freeze dough until ready to bake.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Cut dough into 1/2 inch-thick slices and place on cookie sheet making sure they are spaced 1″ apart.

Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden.  Let cool on pan for 5 minutes and then transfer to cookie rack.

Icing:

Mix confectioners sugar, warm water, powdered egg whites and vanilla extract (if using) together.  Use spoon to drizzle over cooled cookies.

Let stand at room temperature until icing dries.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

