Not your average Joe.

February 19, 2010 at 4:19 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I am weird.  I will be the first to admit it.  I don’t really mind being weird, I’m used to, but I don’t mind anymore.

My husband has pointed out that I am a character and has told me this since the day we met.

I will give you some examples just so you can understand my character:

I was with my husband and some friends and we needed to get cash from the bank machine so we went into a 7-11. At that point I got the feeling to break out into dance and did so (I was just too happy to express in words and thought dance would be more appropriate). My husband left the store–without me.

My husband had an appointment for a haircut and then got called into work. So I told him I would take his appointment and pick him up from work after. I decided to put a short jagged cut wig on when I went to pick him up. When he came into the car I had a hood over my head and was pretending to cry about my haircut then pulled my hood down only to show my horrible “jagged short haircut.”  He showed a lot of concern until I ripped the wig off.

Once I was on the bus and thought I saw someone I recognized from when I was in elementary school in Yellowknife. So, instead of asking her if she was who I thought she was I just yelled out “Yellowknife! Yellowknife!” to see if she would look. She didn’t.

Another weird thing about me is the way I eat pizza. I don’t eat pizza like a normal person. I have a very strategic way to eat it. In public I eat it the normal way and it is definitely less satisfying. Please don’t judge me.

I can’t believe I am going to admit this but I eat my pizza in layers. That’s right, I do! I eat off the cheese, then I eat the meat, the veggies and finally end with the dough. I told you not to judge.

Since I probably disturbed you with the way I eat pizza I will now give you a recipe for pizza to make you forgive me. I used my bread maker to make the dough and if anyone wants the recipe for that then feel free to email or comment.

Photobucket

White Pizza
Ingredients:

  • One pizza crust dough (rolled out ready to go)
  • 1/2 of a medium sized onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup pizza mozzarella, grated
  • 1/4 cup cheddar, grated
  • 1 1/2 cooked chicken breasts
  • One batch of creamy garlic butter sauce (below)

Method:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Place a pizza stone in the oven. If you don’t have a pizza stone you can flip a big baking sheet over (that’s what I did).

Spread sauce over rolled out pizza dough. Sprinkle chicken on the pizza reserving the nicest cut pieces for later. Add the onions. Cover with the cheese and then place reserved chicken pieces nicely on the pizza.

Place in a preheated oven on pizza stone or baking pan and cook for 10 minutes.

Photobucket

Orange Pizza
Ingredients:

  • One pizza crust dough (rolled out ready to go)
  • 1 medium sized onion
  • 1 orange pepper, sliced thinly
  • 2 cups pulled pork
  • 1/4 cup pizza mozzarella, grated
  • 1/2 cup cheddar, grated
  • 5 tbsp bbq sauce (your favourite!)

Method:

Preheat oven 400 degrees.

Place a pizza stone in the oven. If you don’t have a pizza stone you can flip a big baking sheet over (that’s what I did).

Slice onion and place in a skillet on medium heat. Cook onions for 20-30 minutes or until golden brown, stirring occasionally.

Spread bbq sauce over the pizza crust. Place orange peppers on pizza crust, reserve some for later. Add cooked onions. Cover pizza fully with pulled pork. Sprinkle with cheese and top with orange peppers.

Place in a preheated oven on pizza stone or baking pan and cook for 10 minutes.

Photobucket

Creamy garlic butter sauce
Ingredients:
2 cloves roasted garlic
1/4 cup mayo
1 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp kosher salt
3 tbsp butter, softened
A little bit of freshly ground pepper

Method:

Place all ingredients in a food processor. Blend together and set aside for use if using soon. If using later, refrigerate and give a few pulses in the food processor before spreading on pizza.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

