A post of “Olympic” proportions

February 16, 2010 at 7:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Look! Look at the play-on-words I did in the title! Man oh man, do I ever love a good play-on-words. I thought the title would be apt because I wanted to talk a little about the Olympics today.

It must seem pretty crazy that I haven’t mentioned the Olympics with me living in Whistler and all. Well, the truth is that I haven’t been able to get out to the village. There is currently a limited amount of parking in Whistler and I think I would be crazy if I decided to walk to the village by myself with my two little girls.

I hear that the village is getting busier and busier and it is just amazing that there are so many people from all over the place. I love how the Olympics act almost like a forum of peace to bring people from all different countries together through sport.

And even though I have not been to the village yet I have watched a lot of events on the tv. I was so happy when Alexandre Bilodeau won gold in the mogul competition.

I was watching the mogul competition with my husband and daughters. When Bilodeau took over first place I started to get really excited and there was only one more participant to go. As the last person went I started chanting “I believe!! I believe!!” Yup, I did that…

Anyway, that gold means a lot to Canada because it is the first Olympic gold Canada has ever won on home soil–go Canada, go! Oh, and for all you American reader’s out there I was jumping with joy when Apolo Ono took silver in 1500m speed skating competition! Way to go Apolo!

All in all, the Olympics have been fantastic and they are about to get a bit better because my best friend/cousin, her boyfriend and brother are coming to visit. Hopefully, we can get to the village sometime during there visit. When dealing with two little girls 16 hands is better than two.

Since they are coming I have decided to make some brownies for them. Now I am no brownie guru, but I have learnt a few things about brownies (this is thanks to my wonderful husband who bought me The Best of Fine Cooking: Chocolate magazine).

Below are my brownie making tips and also a recipe for some brownies.

Baking brownies are kind of finicky. The type of pan you are using dictates how long the brownies will bake for. A glass pan will take longer where as a metal pan will have a short bake time.

There are three distinct kinds of brownies: chewy, fudgy and cakey, which one is your favourite?

A chewy brownie tends to have a bit more flour and a whole egg to give structure to the goodie.

A fudgy brownie is almost like fudge but less sweet and with a firmer texture. It is very chocolatey . An egg yolk helps add to the fudgy texture without the greasiness.

A cakey brownie is lighter than the other two brownies and has the most crumb. I has less butter than the other two as well. Although brownies are not known to use leaveners, cakey brownies will use them to achieve a fluffier texture.

Photobucket

Chewy Brownies
(recipe adapted from The Best of Fine Cooking: Chocolate magazine)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 lb of dark chocolate
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp coffee, cooled
  • 2 larger eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder (not dutch processed)

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Prepare a 8 x 8 pan by buttering the sides and bottom, lining pan with parchment and then buttering the parchment. Set pan aside.

Cut butter and chocolate up into one inch pieces then place in a double boiler or medium metal bowl. Set bowl over simmering water and melt chocolate and butter.

Transfer chocolate-butter mixture in to a bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Beat on high to slightly cool the mixture.

Once mixture has cooled slightly turn the speed to low and add the sugar, salt, vanilla and coffee.

With mixer still on low add eggs one at a time making sure each egg is blended before adding the next.

Add flour and cocoa. Mix on medium speed until smooth.

Transfer batter into prepared pan. Smooth out the top with spatula and place in preheated oven.

Bake for 20-30 minutes or until the top of the brownie is uniform in colour and when inserting a toothpick it comes out with a few crumbs.

Remove from oven and place on a wired rack; cool for about 10 minutes. Cut around the edges and flip upside down on to a cooling rack. Remove parchment paper and flip right side up and cool.

After an hour cut the brownies into 16 squares and place in a tupperware container. Refrigerate for a few hours. They taste better that way!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

