Life is good (trying to bake a wedding cake pt. 2)

February 15, 2010 at 8:06 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Photobucket
(This is me just less of an evil grin and more of a happy grin. Oh and I don’t have a beard or wear a sombrero.)


Lately I have been elated and it’s a nice change.  For a while I felt very stressed. There were so many changes happening all at once in my life and everything seemed chaotic.

I am a person who likes organization and when you move and your eight months pregnant with a two-year-old organization isn’t even a word you can comprehend. Well, that was the case with me.

Well, we had been living in Whistler for already six months and I was still stressed. The house was always a mess and there was never enough time, or so it seemed. Then something clicked. I started cleaning and organizing. Now I am in a happy place and haven’t been better; life is great.

I think when a your a stay-at-home parent it is important to have a place that feels organized because your in the same setting for basically 24 hours a day sans trips to the market and little outings. That is probably the one piece of advice I would give to someone becoming a stay-at-home parent.  You are a lot more sane when you are in an aesthetically visual place things are more functional.

Because my house is more functional I am able to do more. More equals trying to make a wedding cake part two!

This time I tried my own recipe which I will not post. Apparently my husband and his friends liked it. It was a cake that was made with brown sugar and all-purpose flour so it turned out dense.

I also tried the Whiteout Cake frosting from Baked and this time I was a lot happier with the outcome. I realized that when I make it I have to take the pot of the burner and whisk making sure I get the bottom of the pot. By doing this it is easier to prevent the sugar mixture from burning.

I used 6 inch cake pans and cut each cake in half to make a six layered cake. I was really happy with the results. I cut out of a piece of paper and then laid it on top of the cake. I then sprinkled red sugar crystals carefully over the cut out section and removed the paper.

Unfortunately I didn’t get to take a picture of it but my husband’s friends did.

It was quite a sight with my husband walking into a room full of his friends carrying a cake with a heart on it. Oh, the things he does for me.

Photobucket

Below is the recipe for the White Chocolate Frosting:

Baked’s White chocolate frosting
1/4 cup white chocolate chips, melted
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/3 cups sugar
1 1/2 cups milk
1/3 cup heavy cream
1 1/2 cups unsalted butter, softened yet still cool and cut up into small chunks
1 tsp pure vanilla

In a small bowl whisk together sugar and flour so that it is thoroughly combined.

Pour sugar mixture into a medium saucepan. Add milk and cream to the saucepan and whisk together over medium heat. Cook until mixture starts to boil and thickens (about 20 minutes). Make sure you whisk it every few minutes. When whisking lift the pan off the burner and thoroughly whisk making sure you scrape the bottom of the pan.

Get your electric mixer ready by putting on the paddle attachment.

Once a boil is achieved pour into a bowl of an electric mixer and mix on high speed and beat until mixture becomes cool.

Reduce the speed to slow and add the butter and mix until combined. Increase speed to medium-high and mix till frosting becomes fluffy.

Add white chocolate and vanilla and mix until combined.

If frosting is not stiff enough place it in the fridge for a but then re-beat to achieve the right consistency.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

