Oh Canada!

February 9, 2010 at 5:45 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Canadians aren’t really known for being patriotic but I thank my lucky stars everyday that I am Canadian. I just love Canada so much; well actually I love Canada but I looooooove British Columbia. Do you see the difference?

Obviously there are policies and governments that I don’t like but BC is amazing. I mean it has everything; it has mountains (the Rockies!), plain lands (Peace River region), beaches, rain forests (Tofino) and the ocean. If you haven’t been to BC than I think you should come for a visit.

Anyway I digress, one reason I did this post because it’s hard to think of foods that are truly Canadian because Canada is populated with so many people from so many different cultures. But, I remembered one of my favourite treats growing up as a kid in the North West Territories (as it was then called).

Bannock is a traditional food of some tribes of First Nations people in Canada and it is delicious. There are different types of bannock: some that are baked and some that are fried. While the baked bannock is good, I find the fried bannock reallllly good. More specifically bannock is a quick bread that is formed into very thin rounds of dough and fried. I covered mine with brown sugar and cinnamon.

So if your ever feeling in the mood for something Canadian you should try this.

Photobucket
Ingredients:

4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
4 tsp baking powder
4 tbsp canola oil plus extra canola oil for frying
1 1/4 cup water

Method:

Place all the ingredients in the bowl of and electric mixer. Using the dough hook mix on low for 7 – 10 minutes or whenever the dough starts to form a ball. [If you are kneading the dough by hand place all the ingredients in a medium sized bowl and mix together with your hands. Then knead the dough for about 10 minutes.]

Tear off small pieces of dough and then pat it out on the counter. To make it even thinner pick up the dough and then pull it as far as it can go without breaking the disc of dough.

In a skillet heat up about 1/4 inch of canola oil. Once you hear the oil popping it is hot enough. Carefully add the dough to the oil.

The dough will brown on the bottom and air pockets will form. When this happens flip the dough and cook for about a minute to a minute and a half or whenever bottom becomes golden.

Remove from oil and place on a plate lined with paper towel.

Sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon, spread with jam or eat plain! The options are endless (well technically there is an end but you get the idea).

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh my goodness… those look so good.
    I’m just sitting here in class and wishing I could have one of these. It would definitely make suffering through his class bearable.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

