A half Chinese dish–kind of like me

February 6, 2010 at 3:22 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I am half Chinese but I think I relate to my Chinese heritage. Sundays were always the day our Chinese family would get together for a big dinner cooked by my goon goon. Thinking back on those days I am pretty sure the adults went crazy with 14 high-strung children running around and causing havoc.

I remember my cousins and I running in and out of the garage trying not to let the door shut on us and that was probably one of the safer activities we did.

Anyway, those Sunday dinners were the greatest. My goon goon was an amazing cook and even to this day I still think his signature dish (rice noodles and sliced beef) is the best I have ever tried. But, I am not my goon goon and I cannot make good authentic Chinese food. The only thing I can make that are pretty good are wontons (the best my husbands ever had according to him but he’s biased).

Okay, well the other day I was browsing through the Eat, Shrink and Be Merry cookbook and found a recipe that I thought looked good and it was! It’s not an authentic Chinese dish; I would say it is about a half Chinese and half North American dish, which is kind of like me!

Enjoy!

Feast from the East recipe adapted from Eat, Shrink and Be Merry

Ingredients
Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup hoisin sauce
  • 2 tbsp soya sauce
  • 2 tbsp seasoned rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp toasted sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp grated gingerroot
  • 1 clove of minced garlic
  • A pinch of ground pepper and red pepper flakes

Salad:

  • 8 oz whole wheat spaghetti
  • 1 lb beef, grilled or pan fried and then cut up into strips (sirloin is a good choice)
  • 2 cups broccoli, chopped (I used the florets and the stems because I hate waste)
  • 1 medium sized red or orange pepper (A good trick I learned is that if you aren’t cooking the pepper than choose a pepper with only 3 bumps on the bottom because they are sweeter)
  • Two green onions finely chopped

Method

Cook spaghetti according to directions on package.

While spaghetti is cooking whisk together the ingredients for the dressing. Set aside.

Once spaghetti is cooked drain it and put noodles in a big serving dish. Add remaining ingredients for the salad and toss.

Add dressing right before serving and toss again.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

