Prime Rib, mmm, mmm, mmm!

November 29, 2009 at 6:49 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

My husband has been working for what will be 6 days straight and to top it off he works 10 hour days.  So, I decided that I had to do something special for him and cook him a good ol’ Prime rib.  A hardy dish for a hardy man, haha.

I like making any type of roast because the leftovers are so versatile; you could make a sandwich, casserole or just eat it as is.

Now, I used baby carrots in this dish because when I told my husband to get carrots he got baby carrots.  He is not a very good at grocery shopping and I think it is pretty darn hilarious!  Once I told him to pick me up some bouillon and he got so confused with the options (cubes, envelope, containers) that he got me a product called “Better than bouillon.”  There are many times when he doesn’t come home with all the items because they were too frustrating to find.

Oh how I love him!  That’s why he gets a big plate of some prime, prime rib.

Photobucket

Hardy Prime Rib

Prep time: 30 minutes;  Cook time: 1:00 – 1:30 hours

Ingredients

  • 5 lb Prime Rib
  • Montreal Steak Spice
  • 3 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped (I used baby carrots because it’s all I had)
  • 3 medium sized russet potatoes or yukon gold, chopped
  • 1 medium sized yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic or 1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
  • One package of onion soup mix
  • 1 tablespoon parsley, dried
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon thyme, dried
  • 1 tablespoon of ketchup
  • 1 cup water
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Oil, canola or vegetable

Method

Take roast out of the fridge and let rest for an hour.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a bowl mix together water, onion soup mix, garlic, thyme, parsley, ketchup, salt and pepper.  Pour mixture into a roasting pan.  Add celery, carrots, potatoes and onions.

Put vegetables in the oven for an hour.

While vegetables are roasting prepare roast.  Sprinkle Montreal Steak Spice on roast and create a crust on it.  Put oil in a medium sized skillet and place on burner over high heat.  When it is hot sear the roast on all sides.  This creates a seal to make sure all the juices stay in.

Once the vegetables have been in the oven for an hour take them out.  Place roast in the pan and make sure the vegetables surround it.

Cook for one to one and a half hours or until internal temperature is 145 degrees.

Remove from oven and let rest 10 minutes before carving.

I like to use the drippings for gravy.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. HAHAHAHA

    Baby carrots.

    Ash is awesome

  2. Hello,

    I’m not sure how I stumbled across your blog, but I really enjoy it, and just wanted to let you know. What specifically made me want to leave you a message, was the picture of the “Hardy Prime Rib”. When I first saw it I thought it was out of a food magazine or something.

    Great job!
    You keep writing and I’ll keep reading.

    Food Fan


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

