Penguins, Penguins, Penguins!!

December 18, 2008 at 6:25 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

My sister is Penguin OBSESSED! So when we celebrated her birthday everything had to be penguin… even her cake!
Photobucket

This is my first 3D cake–it was a major challenge!

Photobucket

Shes in loooove

Photobucket
Huge pieces, yummmy but dense

Photobucket

For the cake I basically used several different pound cake recipes (all delicious). I made 8 layers out of 8′ round cake pans.

I then stacked them on top of each other with a basic cream cheese frosting in between and stuck some chopsticks in it so that it would be stable (I had no dowels). Then I carved out the shape of a penguin which was kind of similar to a bowling pin.

I covered the cake with buttercream frosting (some coloured with Wilton’s icing gel black and some left white).

Then I used some Jet Puff marshmallow spread and corn starch to make a faux-fondant to create the beak and eyes!

She really enjoyed it!

Photobucket

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. wow! that cake is amazing! very impressive for your first 3d cake and it looks pretty tasty too!

  2. Thank you so much Haley! I was so scared when I started the huge guy.

    Happy Holidays!

  3. heehee!!! this is so cute!!!

  4. That.Is.AWESOME!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

