Let the Christmas festivities begin!!

December 3, 2008 at 6:44 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Photobucket
I love the feeling the spirit of Christmas. Hearing carolers in the mall, smelling fresh baked cookies and seeing bright lights always bring a big smile to my face.

For me Christmas always starts on December 1st, not before and not after. I like to have the tree up on the first and start my Christmas baking on the first. But this year I started late!! My in-laws came to visit and I was busy doing family activities. As much fun as that was I now get to bake some Christmas yummies and start relishing in the beauty of this season.

Of course, nothing says Christmas to me like shortbread cookies. My sister came over and she absolutely adores shortbread so I decided then and there that shortbread was to be made.

Winning Iron Cupcake got me the super Taste of Home Cookbook. I already had a copy of it but it was last years copy. This years Taste of Home Cookbook is even more fantastic than last years (I know hard to believe). So I took out the trusty cookbook and looked up a recipe for shortbread cookies. I chose the Brown Sugar Shortbread Cookies. My hubby and sister really liked them. Hubs said that usually shortbread can be dry but these were top notch.

Photobucket

Ingredients for Shortbread

  • 2 cups butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • green and red sprinkles

Prepare Shortbread

In a big bowl, cream butter until fluffy.  Add brown sugar and cream together.  Add vanilla and mix well.  Slowly add the flour slowly and mix it until a ball forms.

Knead the dough for three minutes. Then roll dough out into a rectangle shape and cut out into triangles, rectangles or squares. Prick with a fork. Place cookies on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper or a silicon mat and bake for 22-28 minutes or until bottom begin to brown.

Remove from oven. Sprinkle some green and red sprinkles on cookies. Wait 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

