You gotta be kidding me… Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cheesecake!?

December 2, 2008 at 2:48 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Photobucket

Now, I love peanut butter. It is a known fact that I, Tori, eat peanut butter basically everyday. So, when my hub’s suggested I make peanut butter cheesecake for a family dinner he was surprised that I wasn’t thrilled. I mean who would want peanut butter and cheesecake together?! I was skeptical to say the least. However, because I love my Ash very much I said I would make it — just for him.

The thing I hate most about cheesecake is making the crust. I have troubles with the simplest things it seems. I didn’t want to do the standard graham cracker crust so I opted for a Fudgee-O crust! Once I decided on the crust I started getting kind of excited.

I got all the ingredients and whipped it up. The cheesecake turned out great (it was everyone’s favourite dessert when asked what they preferred between the caramel cake and the cheesecake). The peanut butter flavour wasn’t too intense and it wasn’t too sweet. It definitely was the perfect dessert to end the night.

So let me share this recipe with you and if you like cheese cake and don’t mind peanut butter you gotta try it!

Ingredients for Crust

  • 1 package of Fudge-O’s
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted

Ingredients for Cheesecake

  • 2 1/2 packages of cream cheese, softened (about 12 oz)
  • 3/4 cup golden sugar, packed
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter chips (you can add more if you’d like)
  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (I used light peanut butter)

Ingredients for Chocolate Ganache

  • 4 oz bittersweet chocolate
  • A splash of whipping cream

Method for Crust

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In a food processor blend the pack of cookies until fine crumbs appear. Add melted butter and mix well with a spoon. In a 9 inch springform pan press cookie crumbs down to create a crust. Make sure edges of the crust goes up about 1 1/2 inches on the pan wall.

Bake for about 8 – 10 minutes depending on your oven. Transfer crust into the fridge or freezer until needed or at least 10 minutes.

Photobucket

Method for cheesecake

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

With a hand mixer blend cream cheese until fluffy. Add sugar and blend again making sure there are no lumps. Add eggs one at a time so that each egg has just been blended (do not over blend) before adding the next egg. Mix in peanut butter.

Take a spatula and make sure mixture is well mixed. Then, fold in peanut butter chips.

Pour cheesecake batter into prepared pan.

Place cheesecake in a water bath filling it with boiling water submerging a quarter of the pan with water.  This will prevent the cheesecake from cracking.  Also, make sure that you seel the pan with tinfoil so that the water doesn’t leak into the cheesecake.

Put cake in the oven and bake for 45-50 minutes or until cheesecake has set (there will be less wiggle in the middle).

Once cheesecake is done cooking, turn off the oven.  Leave cheesecake in the oven making sure the oven door is ajar.  After a few hours take out the cake and place in the fridge for 3 hours or over night.

Photobucket

Prepare the Ganache

Chop bittersweet chocolate.  Place in a microwavable safe bowl and microwave for about 2 minutes (or 10 seconds longer depending on your microwave).  Mix the chocolate so that the rest melts.  Add whipping cream which will allow the chocolate to become smooth.

Pour ganache over cheesecake and spread making sure the cake is covered.

Refrigerate until chocolate hardens.

THEN DIG IN!!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Its funny i don’t really like peanut butter but I love cheesecake and my friend gave me a recipes to try http://www.cheesecake-recipes.org/contemp/peanut-butter.php and I was like ” What!@!!!!!!!!! peanut butter cheesecake?!?!?” I made it and it was actualy very good but I still won’t eat peanut butter by itself.

  2. Whoa! That peanut butter cheesecake looks amazing and delicious. I must agree with you though–peanut butter cheesecake is pretty fantastic!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

