Chocolate Toffee Peanut Butter Bliss Cupcakes

November 9, 2008 at 6:55 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

This is ground breaking news!! I finally had time to do some baking while E was awake.  She was very good and didn’t pull at my leg once while I was baking– if you know E that is very impressive.  I decided to make cupcakes because my hubs has a staff meeting tonight and I thought why not give the workers something to sweeten their night.

Well, well, well… let me tell you I love these cupcakes but that is because I am a peanut butter fanatic! I eat peanut butter every day.  Even writing about it makes my mouth water.  So without further adieu here is the recipe for Chocolate Toffee Peanut Butter Bliss Cupcakes.  Enjoy!!
Photobucket

Ingredients for Cupcakes

  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 6 oz bittersweet chocolate, melted
  • 2 tbs coffee, cooled
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup milk

Ingredients for toffee drizzle

  • 1 tbs butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tbs corn starch
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 skor bits
  • 4 oz bittersweet chocolate

Ingredients for Peanut Butter frosting

  • 1/3 cup peanut butter, creamy
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cup confectioners sugar
  • Splash of milk or cream

Prepare Cupcakes

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Whip butter with electric hand mixer.  Add sugar and continue to whip.  Once mixture has a fluffy, light apperance to it beat in eggs one at a time.  Pour in melted chocolate and coffee– mix well.

In a seperate bowl blend flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda.

Pour one third of the dry ingredients to the butter mixture and blend.  Add some milk to the batter and mix.  Alternate dry ingredients and milk until all the ingredients are finished.

Pour batter into cupcake tin and place in the oven for 17-20 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean.

Prepare Toffee Drizzle (make sure cupcakes are cooled before preparing)

In a small sauce pan melt butter over low heat.  Add chocolate and melt careful not to burn chocolate.  Measure out milk and add corn starch to it.  Then pour milk-cornstartch mixture into chocolate.  Stir constantly for 1 to 2 minutes.  Take saucepan off heat source.  Add sugar and skor bits.  Stir until sugar is melted and skor bits are partially melted.

Prepare Peanut Butter Frosting

Whip butter and peanut butter together.  Slowly add confectioners sugar to mixture.  Add a splash of milk to make sure frosting is nice and smooth.

Assemble Cupcakes

Use a chopstick or some kind of poking device to perforate the cupcakes.  Drizzle toffee mixture over the holes making sure the chocolaty goodness seeps down the holes.  Sprinkle skor bits over it.  Let the chocolate cool so that it hardens.

Then frost with peanut butter frosting.
Photobucket

Also, I thought I would add a photo of what trouble my little E gets into.  Note the child proof lock on the cupboard… oh E.

Photobucket

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh My goodness! I actually gasped when I saw this picture. Is that green paste food coloring??
    That will be fun to remove if it is 😦

  2. That is Wilton’s Green Icing gels! It was quite the incident. I was trying to get the bath ready while making sure she didn’t crawl on the carpets!

    She was green for a few days too… :S She definitely makes my life as a stay at home mom exciting though. 🙂

  3. haha.. what a mess, but so cute!

    i am quite the peanut butter fanatic as well and those cupcakes sounds so good right now!

  4. You ARE an Iron Baker!

    Some of those recipes look tasty, I’ll get Alana cracking on them ASAP.

    Thanks for dinner again!

  5. I’ve been drooling over these since I first saw them on your blog and decided to attempt them today! Didn’t quite turn out 😦 and I’m wondering how you managed to add the milk/corn starch mix to the melted chocolate/butter without it completely hardening??? I tried twice and wound up having to make them without the drizzle…. still tasty but I’d love to try another crack at them!

    Cheers!
    Alana

  6. Hi Alana,

    I was looking at the recipe and wasn’t sure what might have gone wrong. All I can say is that make sure the chocolate and butter is on a heat source at medium. Then add the corn starch/sugar mixture very slowly while whisking — it might even be easy to use a hand held electric mixer. If thats what you did then I would probably suggest reducing the corn starch because that is really the thickening agent (maybe to a 1/2 tbsp?).

    If you have any more question or if that wasn’t clear please don’t hesitate to ask. I keep on looking at your photographs… they are so great!

  7. Thanks! I had the chocolate mixture on low heat instead of medium, and didn’t stir it in slowly (I just dumped it all in at once), so I guess that’s what the problem was… I’ll have to give it another go soon! I love checking out your blog too, everything looks incredible, I’m sure I’ll be trying out more of your recipes.. Have a great holidays!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

