Thanksgiving, Hallowe’en, Pumpkins… Oh My!

October 9, 2008 at 9:51 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I am Canadian and being Canadian I will be celebrating Thanksgiving this Monday. With Thanksgiving and Hallowe’en both coming very soon I decided that I needed to make a festive cupcake.

Now, I am addicted to baking blogs. One of my absolute favourites is I heart Cuppycakes –who by the way just won September’s Cupcake Hero . She is a cupcake genius. In a recent post she did an amazing caramel apple cuppycake . My problem (which my hubby ALWAYS mentions) is that I am a very poor cupcake decorator. Well when I saw CB’s caramel cuppycake I thought you could make that a pumpkin. Then at the store I saw some candy and a light bulb went on.

Thus, I present to you A Patch of Pumpkin’s cupcake.
Photobucket

I created the recipe by basically adding more flour to my standard pumpkin pie recipe. Hubs thinks it is awesome and in his words “it is a cakey version of pumpkin pie!” I know, he is kind of nerdy…

Ingredients for Pumpkin Cupcakes

  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup golden sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup shortening

Ingredients for Chai Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1 packages (8 oz) of cream cheese, softened
  • 2 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp chai spice mix
  • Yellow and Red food colouring

Ingredients for Assembly

  • Orange sprinkles
  • Green bytes candy or thick green licorice

Prepare Cupcakes

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a bowl mix together flour, cinnamon, ground ginger, cloves, salt, baking powder and baking soda. In another bowl, blend together shortening and sugars. Once a creamy texture is reached add the pumpkin puree and mix.
Photobucket
Who needs a KitchenAid when you have a real Kitchen Aid (he is SUCH a goof)

Take the bowl of dry ingredients and slowly add to the wet mixture making sure everything is blended well.

Fill cupcake liners and place in the preheated oven for 15-20 minutes or till cake tester comes out clean.
Photobucket
sooo gooey

Remove from oven and let cool.

Photobucket
yay!!! They came out looking scrumptious

Prepare Chai Cream Cheese Frosting

Blend together softened butter and cream cheese together. Once blended, slowly add confectioner’s sugar so that frosting is stiff. Add vanilla and chai. Blend again. Add food colouring till you achieve desired orange colour.

Photobucket

Assembling Cupcakes

Take cooled cupcakes and put big dollop of frosting on top. Shape so that frosting resembles a sphere.
Photobucket

Roll frosted cupcake in sprinkles fully covering the surface of the sphere.
Photobucket
oh so prettttttyyyy

Insert green livewire byte or green licorice that has been cut to an inch. Run knife vertically down the sphere starting from the green candy — doing this will create the ridges of the pumpkin. Continue to make ridges on the cupcake till you have six ridges. However, it is important to make sure you wipe off the knife before you proceed to do more ridges.

Place in fridge over night so that frosting sets and there you have it, a nice festive patch of pumpkins.
Photobucket

Also, I would like to thank Fiesta Products for my Iron Cupcake prize. I received the whole Head Chefs set in the mail yesterday and my daughter, E, loves them. She uses them as dolls right now but I think they are great in the kitchen.
Photobucket

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh those are just too cute! Psshaahh… on your hubs. You obviously can decorate! PS. I like your “KA” more than mine 😉
    /Clara

  2. I loved them!!

    So delicious, I wish we had more of them!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

