Cinnamon Apple Tart

September 22, 2008 at 6:59 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

So, last week I had big aspirations for baking. I bought a bunch of ingredients including phyllo dough. When I got home from the supermarket I placed in in the fridge so that it could defrost. Seven days go by and it was still in the fridge starring me down. I couldn’t take it anymore so I took it out and decided I would make an apple tart with a bag of apples my hubby told me he would eat (he hasn’t even eaten one, sheesh).

Anyway, my sisters were over and since we are such dessert maniacs I decided this would be the perfect treat for us. My inspiration for this dessert came from a recipe book my parents gave me for Christmas call The Silver Palate which has very many tasty creations in it. Well, I took their idea of apples wrapped in phyllo dough and made it my own — kind of like apple pie wrapped in phyllo, yum yum yum!

Photobucket

Ingredients

  • 6 medium apples, peeled, cored and cut thin (I used granny smiths)
  • 12 phyllo leaves
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbs cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cloves
  • 2 tbs granulated sugar
  • 1/8 salt

Prepare

Unwrap the phyllo dough and cover with a moist towel for at least 10 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Melt butter on the stove top.

Photobucket

In a bowl mix brown sugar, cinnamon and cloves together. Toss apples in the sugar cinnamon mixture.

In a separate bowl combine granulated sugar and salt together.

Grease or place parchment paper on a baking sheet. Grab one leaf of phyllo and lay it on the baking sheet. Make sure the damp towel is always placed on top of the phyllo that isn’t being used.

Cover the phyllo dough on the baking sheet with butter using a pastry brush. Then sprinkle some of the sugar and salt mixture over it. Repeat this five times.

Photobucket

After the sixth layer pile apples in the centre of the phyllo creating a circle. Pour the excess sugar cinnamon syrup on top of the apples.

Put on another leaf of phyllo dough. Cover with butter and sprinkle with sugar salt mixture. Repeat this five times. On the last leaf only cover with butter.

Photobucket

Cut off excess phyllo only allowing the dough to be 8 inches in diameter. Pinch the edges shut.

Photobucket

Place in the preheated oven for 35 – 40 minutes. Cover with aluminum when top becomes brown (about 10 minutes).

Serve warm with vanilla ice cream and enjoy (I hope).

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

