Chocolate chip cookie … d’oh cupcakes?!

September 6, 2008 at 7:03 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

For the longest time I have been trying to create original cupcakes that I couldn’t find on the web.  However,  I couldn’t think of anything.  Then I had an idea — a really great idea if I could pull it off.  That idea was chocolate chip cookie dough cupcakes.  The only problem was the whole raw eggs issue.  So I looked on the web and to my surprise and delight I found a recipe for edible cookie dough (who knew! I didn’t).

Alas, the chocolate chip cookie d’oh cupcake was born.
cookie6
I wish I had more time to decorate them but again I am a mommy and when you have a baby tugging at your pant legs its hard spend time on the decoration.

Oh and I would like to thank my lovely sister Tonija for helping me prepare this delicious cuppycakes even though she kept on eating all the ingredients.


Ingredients

Vanilla Cupcake

  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbs Vanilla extract

Edible Cookie Dough

(recipe taken from Lynettee’s Kitchen)

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter — softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • cookie3

Chocolate Icing

  • 8 oz semi sweet chocolate
  • 1 1/2 cup whipping cream

Prepare Vanilla Cupcakes

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Combine flour, baking powder and salt together. In another bowl blend together softened butter and sugar. Then beat in milk, eggs and vanilla. Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture slowly while using an electric mixer on low.

Fill cupcake liners two thirds of the way full. Cook for about 15 minutes or until cake tester insert comes out clean.

Prepare edible cookie dough

In a bowl mix together flour, baking soda and salt. In another bowl blend together the butter and sugars. Once fully blended, add the milk and vanilla. Then, gradually add the flour mixture to the wet mixture — stir well. Complete by folding in chocolate chips.

Prepare Chocolate Whip

Place a metal bowl over a pot of boiling chocolate. Add the chocolate to the bowl and stir until melted. Remove bowl from pot and mix in cream with a hand mixer for 10 minutes or until desired consistency.

Prepare Cupcakes

Take the cool cupcake and use a paring knife to remove the center.
cookie2
Take the center piece and cut off the rest of the cupcake so that top is flat. Fill the center with a scoop of chocolate chip cookie dough.
cookie4
Place the center piece back on. Ice the cupcake and top with a mini chocolate chip cookie.
cookie5

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Those sound so yummy! In fact, all of your cupcake recipes look really good.

  2. Thanks, I am getting off this cleanse soon and I’ve got some ideas I want to try out (hopefully they work out).

    I checked out your site and your cakes look amazing!

  3. […] the cookie dough frosting, I used a safe-to-eat recipe without any eggs found at Mama Baker. Even though I already have a good eggless cookie dough recipe, it wasn’t as creamy as what […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

