Hawaiian Sweet Bread

September 21, 2010 at 5:27 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

When I first met my husband I was smitten. He likes to tell everyone that I was rude and I insulted him but I believe that to be untrue.

Call it what you may, it was love-at-first sight. I knew I was going to marry him.

He was a very reserved individual so it took a while to get to know him. All I knew was that he was in graduate school working on a thesis about Milton’s Paradise Lost and he liked to ski and bike.

Slowly I was able to find out information about him through various sources. He never liked to talk about his accomplishment–I would just stumble upon facts or his friends would reveal things about him. As I learnt more about him, I realized that he was almost too accomplished for me.

What I found out was very intimidating and he will probably get very mad at me if he ever finds out what I am about to reveal. Thankfully one of his better qualities is that he is very forgiving.

Some of my discoveries were the following: he won numerous provincial awards in tae kwon do, swimming and basketball; as a skier he was excellent but chose education over a ski career; and he was awarded the golden key upon graduating university where he earned a double major in philosophy and English.

Let’s just say I was in awe.

Now almost exactly four years later I have learned a lot more about him. He leaves his laundry in the bathroom and not the hamper, doesn’t throw garbage in the trash can, puts the dirty dishes on the counter above the dishwasher and, well, I could go on, but it is irrelevant. Because, despite thinking about all these faults of his I can’t help but smile.

I am so thankful I have him in my life. He doesn’t complete me; he adds to my life helping me evolve and become the best person I can be.

In honour of my husband, I am posting a recipe for Hawaiian Sweet Bread. His mom is Hawaiian and every time she goes to Hawaii she brings back loaves of this stuff. He loves this bread so I decided to surprise my husband with some loaves fresh out of the oven. The bread isn’t traditionally braided but I am more comfortable braiding bread than shaping it into loaves. Also, the recipe doesn’t call for an egg wash but I love the gleam it adds to a loaf of bread.

Photobucket

Hawaiian Sweet Bread
(adapted from Baking Sheet)

Makes 2 loaves

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup water, warm
  • 1 cup sugar, divided
  • 1/2 cup boiled potatoes, mashed
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup milk, warm
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup butter, room temperature cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 4-5 cups all-purpose flour

Egg wash:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp water

Method:
In the bowl of an electric mixer, combined yeast, warm water, 1 tablespoon of sugar and the mashed potatoes. Let
stand for 5 minutes.

Add remaining sugar, lemon juice, milk and salt and mix with the paddle attachment of your mixer.   With the mixer on medium speed, add eggs one at a time mixing very thoroughly.  Slowly add the 2 cups of flour.

Switch to the dough hook attachment.  Turn mixer to a low speed and add 1 1/2 cups more flour and the butter. Continue to mix adding 1 tablespoon of flour at a time until the dough pulls away from the bowl and it is slightly sticky to touch.

Place on a lightly floured surface and knead for 2-3 more minutes to ensure smoothness. Lightly grease a large bowl and place dough in it. Cover loosely with plastic wrap.

Let rise until doubled, 2-3 hours in a warm place.

Turn dough out on a lightly floured surface.

Divide dough in half. Take one half of the dough and divide it into three equal parts and roll out each part into a rope that is about 12 inches long.

Pinch the end of the three ropes together and fold under. Then start to braid the dough: take the left rope and bring it over the centre rope, then take the right rope and bring that over the centre rope and repeat until the entire bread is braided. Pinch the ends and fold under.

Repeat following instructions with the remaining half of the dough.

Gently move the loaves on to a parchment lined baking sheet. Cover lightly with plastic wrap and let rest in a warm and draft free place for 45 – 60 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Beat one egg and one tablespoon of water. Using a pastry brush, coat the loaves in the egg wash.

Bake for 35-40 minutes, until golden. Loaves will sound hollow when
tapped on the bottom. The best way to check for doneness is to insert
an instant -read thermometer (like a meat thermometer) into the bottom
of the loaf a few inches. The temperature will read 200F when the
bread is done.

Let cool completely on a wire rack before slicing.

Store in an airtight container or ziploc bag.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The sweat bread was amazing, I devoured most of it. It took all of my strength of will to save a slice for Scott. I prefer pulling it apart and enjoying the texture of of the twists in the dough as opposed to slicing it. Although I suspect Ashley though I was simply being lazy…

    Thank you kindly for again sharing you talents with us.

    Gian

  2. Another wonderful recipe! Hawaiian Bread has always been a favorite of mine, but it’s something that I’ve never made. The only problem with this one is that I could see us eating it all in one sitting!

    • Thanks so much. I am so glad my husband introduced me to Hawaiian Bread as it is such a favourite in our family. I just checked out your blog and am so envious of all your delicious looking food and amazing photography. Thanks for taking time to check out my blog. :)

  3. I bet this is delicious. I need to get up the courage to try making bread, too.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

