Off-beat.

February 27, 2010 at 6:32 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

My parents are great people.  A little strange but none-the-less great. Maybe that’s where I get my eccentricities; they did raise me after all. And, because I love my parents so much I will tell you a little bit about their off-beat nature.

When my brother was born my parents–who are Chinese and Caucasian–decided to name him Mathieu and not Matthew.  We aren’t even French, but I guess it was better than some of the alternatives they had.

My real name is Victoria, but they have never called me by that name.  I think they actually dislike the name.  Ever since I was born I have gone by Tori.  Wait, correction, I went by Torey but then somewhere between my birth and when I was five the spelling suddenly changed.

We also didn’t experience a lot of food variety. Pumpkin pie has still and probably always will remained a mystery to my palate; I am afraid to try it!   There was a bunch of food my brother and I were never exposed to and I think that is thanks to my dad’s pickiness in regards to food.  I never had bananas with peanut butter, brussel sprouts, eggplant, cauliflower, spinach, etc.   However, my family was eating sushi way before it was ever popular (20 plus years ago!).

I, personally, don’t think I missed out on many food opportunities except for one. My mother never made banana bread! I didn’t try banana bread until I was older. We always had bananas in the house and banana muffins were readily available but, alas, no bread of the banana variety.

Banana bread is probably one of my favourite quick breads. When I bake it I just want to eat the whole loaf. Of course, everyone has their favourite version of banana bread. Mine is one that is light and airy yet moist, not too sweet with a strong banana taste. I mean, it is called “banana bread” not “semi-banana bread.”
The recipe below is catered to my favourite kind of banana bread.

Photobucket

Light and Airy Banana Bread
Ingredients

  • 1/2 cups Brown Butter, cooled in the refrigerator for 30-60 minutes
  • 1 cup golden brown sugar
  • 1 egg + 1 egg yolk, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cake flour
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda

Method:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Prepare two loaf tins 8 1/2×4 by greasing the bottoms and sides (I am sure you could put the batter into one loaf tin but I like my loafs cute and miniature in size and not because I am trying to portion control my intake of banana bread…).

Mix together butter and sugar till thoroughly combined. Stir in eggs until well blended.

Add bananas, milk and vanilla; beat until smooth.

In a medium bowl sift together flours, salt and baking soda.

Slowly stir in flour until just moistened and pour one half of the batter into each loaf tin.

Bake in a preheated oven for 40-60 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean when inserted in the middle of the bread.

Remove from oven and place on a wired cooling rack. After ten minutes, remove loaf from tin and let cool on the wire rack for an additional 60 minutes.

Wrap in plastic wrap.

Photobucket

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

